+49 (0) 21 91 89 10
In der Fleute 2
42897 Remscheid
Germany

Additive Inductor Manufacturing

Additive manufacturing of inductors and quenching showers

Additive manufacturing is rewriting today´s world for inductors and quenching showers . With the high degree of freedom and innovative integration of functions, the design department dictates the manufacturing process.  Due to the additive manufacturing process, the Inductor 4.0 can be produced not only with flow-optimised cooling channels, but also with a solder-free copper coil. Undesirable stalls  at right-angled transitions, which previously often necessitated a soldered joint, can now be prevented. Both these potential optimisations have a significant effect on the durability of these heavily stressed tools.

The inductive hardening process is not only determined by complex and robust inductors but also by efficient quenching showers. The additive process also provides good potential for flow optimisation in this case.

Materials: Metal,
plastics, ceramics
Extremely
dense models
High
strength
Optimisation of
fluid dynamics
Reduced number
of components

Additive manufacturing of inductors and quenching showers

Selective Laser Melting (SLM)

SMS Elotherm uses the SLM process which, with its high degree of detailing, high density and wide choice of materials has gained a strong position and permits every kind of optimisation in inductors and quenching showers.

In the SLM process the powder is distributed over the build platform with a coater – producing layer thicknesses of 20-50 µm. A laser source subsequently heats the particles locally up to melting point in order to bind them to the previous layer. Following the process, the build platform is lowered and the procedure repeated until the imported

CAD model has been completed. Overhangs and other design restrictions must be held in place by support structures during these micro-welding processes. The supporters are completely removed later on in an additional process. Final quality testing is a guarantee for SMS Elotherm's high manufacturing standards.

Advantages

  • Improvements regarding technical geometry (cooling channels, contour accuracy, topology optimisation, strength  optimisation)
  • Improvement with regards to fabrication by transfer of component groups into a common component.
  • Cost reductions
  • Specially suitable for inductors, quenching showers  and workpiece-dependent components.
  • High potential for optimisation of technical drawings which are, or were dependent, on older fabrication processes.
  • Rapid implementation with high reproducibility
  • Extended service life with associated increased productivity and reduced costs

+49 (0) 21 91 89 10
In der Fleute 2
42897 Remscheid

Additive Induktorfertigung

Additive Fertigung von Induktoren und Abschreckbrausen

Mit Hilfe der additiven Fertigung wird das Zeitalter der Induktoren und Abschreckbrausen neu geschrieben. Mit dem hohen Maß an Designfreiheiten und innovativer Funktionsintegration bestimmt die Konstruktion den Fertigungsprozess. Der Induktor 4.0 erhält durch den additiven Fertigungsprozess nicht nur strömungsoptimierte Kühlkanäle, sondern ebenfalls eine lötfreie Kupferspule. Unerwünschte Strömungsabrisse an rechtwinkligen Übergängen, welche in der Vergangenheit oftmals eine Lötstelle darstellten, können somit vermieden werden. Beide Optimierungspotentiale haben einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die Langlebigkeit dieser stark belastenden Werkzeuge.

Der induktive Härteprozess wird nicht nur durch komplexe und robuste Induktoren bestimmt, sondern auch von effizienten Abschreckbrausen. Auch hier bietet das additive Verfahren ein hohes Potential bei der Strömungsoptimierung an.

Werkstoffe: Metall,
Kunststoff, Keramik
Sehr dichte
Modelle
Hohe
Belastbarkeit
Optimierung der
Strömungseigenschaften
Reduzierung
der Einzelteile

Additive Fertigung von Induktoren und Abschreckbrausen

Selective Laser Melting (SLM)

SMS Elotherm verfolgt das SLM-Verfahren, welches mit seinem hohen Detaillierungsgrad, der hohen Dichte und breiten Werkstoffauswahl stark aufgestellt ist und die Realisierung aller Optimierungspotentiale an Induktoren und Abschreckbrausen zulässt.

Bei dem SLM-Verfahren wird das Pulver durch ein Rakel auf der Bauplattform verteilt – hierbei entstehen Schichtdicken von 20–50 µm. Anschließend erfolgt mit einer Laserquelle eine lokale Erwärmung der Partikel bis zur Schmelztemperatur, um diese mit der vorherigen Schicht zu verbinden. Nach dem Prozessabschluss wird die Bauplattform gesenkt und der Arbeitsgang wiederholt, bis das eingelesene CAD-Modell fertiggestellt ist.

Während dieses Mikro­schweißprozesses müssen Überhänge und andere konstruktive Restriktionen durch Stützkonturen gehalten werden. Diese werden im Anschluss in einem weiteren Prozess vollständig entfernt. Durch die finale Qualitätsprüfung wird der hohe Fertigungsstandard der SMS Elotherm sichergestellt.

Die Vorteile

  • Technologische Geometrieverbesserungen (Kühlkanäle, Konturtreue, Materialeinsparung, Belastungsoptimierung)
  • Fertigungstechnische Verbesserung durch Überführung von Bauteilgruppen in ein gemeinsames Bauteil
  • Kostenreduzierung
  • Besonders geeignet für Induktoren, Brausen und werkstückabhängigen Komponenten
  • Hohes Optimierungspotential von Zeichnungen, die von älteren Fertigungsverfahren abhängig sind / waren
  • Kurzfristig umsetzbar mit hoher Reproduzierbarkeit
  • Verlängerung der Lebensdauer und der damit einhergehenden Produktionssteigerung und Kostenreduzierung